Randy Travis to be Honored with ASCAP Founders Award

Country Music Icon Randy Travis is the recipient for this year’s ASCAP Founders Award.  Travis will be honored at the invite-only gala on November 11th. “Randy Travis is the seminal country artist of a generation,” states ASCAP Chairman of the Board and President Paul Williams, “His music and devotion to classic country sounds are a cornerstone in the genre and it is an honor to present him with this year’s Founders Award.” The ASCAP Founders Award is one of the highest honors a songwriter can achieve. The award is based on the influence of music creators and how their works will impact future generations.  Former ASCAP Founders Award winners include Rodney Crowell, George Strait, Alan Jackson, Ricky Skaggs, Jackson Browne, Garth Brooks, Emmylou Harris, Tom Petty, and Neil Young. What do you think is most important about Randy Travis’ impact on country music?